Skip to main content
J. J. Keller Support Center

User Roles (Permissions)

Clicking Save & Edit Security Roles will take the administrator to the Edit Roles screen.  To navigate to this page from elsewhere, go to the drop-down menu in the upper right and click Setup.

Setup.png

 

Click on Users in the Maintain Users box.

clipboard_e72fb5ce2dded0681313062a8959e77a4.png

 

Click on Edit Role next to the user.

 

Select the roles by using the checkboxes to the left.  If this is a new Administrator being added, simply click Select All towards the right above the checklist. Once the appropriate roles have been selected, click Save.

clipboard_e48f17bfb86fafa31f14406efcb88a353.png

 

Success Message will be shown.

Users_AddEncUser_09.png

 

 

Tips

There are some roles we recommend you NOT give users unless you really intend for them to be doing "administrative" tasks:

  • Administrator
  • Company Setup
  • Default
  • Purge (Anything) -- i.e., Employees (Purge), Log Files (Purge), etc.
  • KellerMobile™ Admin - Grant if you expect the user to help with unassigned log events, assigning ELDs to vehicles, managing the KellerMobile™ Device listing, the ELD Device listing, and KellerMobile™ default settings.
  • User Maintenance

 

Why limit these roles?  The above roles play crucial roles in the way your system is setup and behaves.  We've found too many admins spoil the data (so to speak).  We recommend you keep your administrator numbers down to minimum and coordinate as a team.  

 

Regarding Purging...

A purge in our system is a true DELETE of data.  Even though some links may read "del" and NOT purge records, a link that reads "purge" in it means a true delete. There's no getting your data back (no roll back, no undo) if you purge data.  There are several steps to purging data so it won't be a surprise purge.  But we've had many customers call in the past realizing they've made an error hoping to get their data restored.  Can we do that for you?  Maybe.  It will depend on how soon you realize the mistake, what area (or areas) were purged, how many records are involved, and how MUCH money it might cost to restore.  Some customers decide it's better to manually re-enter.  So we recommend you keep the Administrator, User maintenance, and any Purge roles to a minimum.  

 

A PURGE is a permanent deletion.  There's no roll-back, undo, or "restore from purge."  If you purge data and/or attachments, the records are gone!  Be very careful with purge.

 

  • Was this article helpful?