Skip to main content
J. J. Keller Support Center

User Roles (Permissions)

To edit Encompass users' roles and permissions, go to Settings in the dropdown next to your name.

clipboard_e6655e6b48df7baadfe1af964426e8988.png

Click on Users.

clipboard_e710db7a2a25ca8d1a7e162e118df0972.png

Hover over the user's name and click the "box with pencil" icon.

clipboard_e18f34cba3910ddfd2ff52819a07eaf29.png

Select the appropriate roles by using the checkboxes. If this is a new Administrator being added, check the box next to Role to select all. (See yellow box in image below) Once the appropriate roles have been selected, click Save.

clipboard_eb6ebb406d2ee7f791ad2b4c5545189fe.png

ABOUT THE ADMIN ROLES

There are some roles we recommend you NOT give users unless you really intend for them to be doing "administrative" tasks:

  • Administrator
  • Company Setup
  • Default
  • Purge (Anything) -- i.e., Employees (Purge), Log Files (Purge), etc.
  • Encompass® ELD Admin - Grant if you expect the user to help with unassigned log events, assigning ELDs to vehicles, managing the Encompass® ELD Device listing, the ELD Device listing, and Encompass® ELD default settings.
  • User Maintenance

 

Why limit these roles?  The above roles play crucial roles in the way your system is setup and behaves.  We've found too many administrators spoil the data (so to speak).  We recommend you keep your administrator numbers down to minimum and coordinate as a team.  

 

Regarding Purging...

A purge in our system is a true DELETE of data.  Even though some links may read "del" and NOT purge records, a link that reads "purge" in it means a true delete. There's no getting your data back (no roll back, no undo) if you purge data.  There are several steps to purging data so it won't be a surprise purge. But we've had many customers call in the past realizing they've made an error hoping to get their data restored. Can we do that for you? Maybe. It will depend on how soon you realize the mistake, what area (or areas) were purged, how many records are involved, and how much money it might cost to restore. Some customers decide it's better to manually re-enter. Thus, we recommend you keep the Administrator, User Maintenance, and any Purge roles to a minimum.  

 

A PURGE is a permanent deletion.  There's no roll-back, undo, or "restore from purge."  If you purge data and/or attachments, the records are gone!  Be very careful with purge.

  • Was this article helpful?