Skip to main content
J. J. Keller Support Center

Users - Deactivate an Encompass® User

About Deactivating Users 

After a time, users change, move on, retire, leave... and you no longer want them to have access to the system.  Some might be temporary suspensions (i.e., workman's comp) while others might be permanent.   The system allows for either situation.  

 

It should be mentioned that once a user record is entered into the Encompass® system, it never truly deletes (purges) a user record.  The user record will disappear from your user lists and will no longer have access, BUT the user account is still on file on the back-end.  This is setup this way so that if you should rehire a user back to the Encompass, you won't need to re-enter all their information and roles again.  

 

Deactivate a User Temporarily

This method will result in the user still showing up on your user list while showing as inactive. 

  1. Go to Setup
    Users_Enc_Deactivate_01.png
  2. Locate the "Users" list (under Maintain Users)
    Users_Enc_Deactivate_02.png
  3. Locate the user on the listing
    Users_Enc_Deactivate_03.png
  4. Click on "Edit" (far right)
  5. Uncheck the Login Account is Active checkbox
    Users_Enc_Deactivate_04.png
  6. SAVE
  7. View Success Message. The user will now as as "Is Active" = "No" on the user listing.
    Users_Enc_Deactivate_05.png
     

Deactivate a User Permanently

Use this method if the user has left the company or system and you no longer want to see him/her on user lists.

  1. Go to Setup | Users
    Users_Enc_Deactivate_02.png
  2. Locate the user on the listing
    Users_Enc_Deactivate_06.png
  3. Click on "Del" (to the far right)
  4. Confirm Delete User by clicking "Yes"
    Users_Enc_Deactivate_07.png
  5. View Success Message.  The user will no longer show on the user listing
    Users_Enc_Deactivate_08.png

 

Note:  Both methods will result in the user not being able to get into the system.

I Need to Reactive them!

To reactivate a user still on the listing?  

  1. Go to Setup and locate the "Users" list (under Maintain Users)
    Users_Enc_Deactivate_02.png
  2. Locate the user on the listing
  3. Click on "Edit" (far right)
    Users_Enc_Deactivate_10.png
  4. Check the Login Account is Active checkbox
    Users_Enc_Deactivate_09.png
  5. SAVE
  6. View Success Message. The user will now as as "Is Active" = "Yes" on the user listing
    Users_Enc_Deactivate_11.png

Note:  You may want to reset the password.  See this article for how to do that.

 

To Reactivate a User You've Permanently Deleted?

Unless you have the username exactly like it was, you will have to enter a new user record for them.  If, however, you do have the username as it was in the past (i.e., it didn't change), then follow the steps to add a new user.  The system will identify the user is already in the system.  You will just need to reactivate that record.  

  • Was this article helpful?