Skip to main content
J. J. Keller Support Center

Other Setup - Lookups (Drop-downs), Driver Management

About Lookups

There are several lookups you can affect in Driver Management:

  • Carrier Type
  • Employment Status
  • Job Class
  • License Class
  • License Endorsement Type
  • Supporting Doc Type
  • Company/DOT Violation
     

If you're using Encompass®, Encompass® Compliance or Encompass® Premium, you will see many, many more.  These instructions will address the basic approach to setting up lookups.  They all are subject to these types of steps.

 

Steps to Setup Lookups

To View Lookup Values

  1. Start from the Driver Management Tab, select "Setup"
  2. On the left side of the screen, locate the main heading "Maintain Lookups"
    • Notice that there are sub-sections -- i.e., Employee or Log Checker
    • Notice, also, that these sub-sections align with a tab name most of the time
      • Log Checker = Hours of Service
  3. Select a link like "Employment Status"
  4. Review the list of values already in the system.  
    1. By default, we've already setup many commonly used values for yo u.  These are considered default values and you can't delete them
    2. You can only "Edit" and turn off a system lookup value
    3. Notice that the far right column "Show in LIst?" shows "Yes" for the values; this means it will show in the interface when adding or editing information

 

To Edit and Turn off a defaulted value

  1. From the Lookup Listing View, click "Edit" (far right of the item)
  2. Uncheck "Show in List?" checkbox
  3. SAVE
  4. The item will now register with "Show in List?" as "No"

 

To Add a New Value

  1. From the Lookup Listing View, select "Add...Item"  (In this case, the button will read "Add New Employment Status Item")
  2. Enter a Name for the Value
    • Make sure "Show in List?" is checked (or the item will not show up)
    • Some lookups -- like Employment Status -- come with additional settings
      • Check the checkbox if you want the additional item on
  3. Click SAVE
  4. View Success Message
  5. Note the Item is now on the listing

 

To Delete the Item When there's no records Associated with It

  1. From the Lookup Listing View, locate the item for deletion
  2. Click the "del" link (far right)
  3. Confirm the deletion by clicking "Yes"
  4. View Success Message
  5. Note the Item is no longer on the listing
    OtherSetup_DMLookups_13.png

 

To Delete the Item when there ARE Items Associated with It

The system won't let you easily delete a lookup when you've got records using the lookup.  It will ask you to replace the lookup with a different value or to turn it off instead. 

  1. From the Lookup Listing View, locate the item for deletion
  2. Click the "del" link (far right)
  3. Confirm the deletion by clicking "Yes"
  4. You will get a screen warning you that the value is being used by records in the system
  5. You'll have two choices
    • Make the item inactive (the recommended option)
    • Replace all instances of this with... a different active valu e
    • We recommend the inactivation because we've found customers often delete an item only to find they need to use it again somewhere else.  If you choose the second option, the value is deleted completely and replaced with the new value for all associated records.
      • Customers sometimes get confused when they had a large number of drivers (i.e., 50) with one type of lookup and then replace it with a different one.  
        • Their numbers for the existing lookup increase (i.e., by 50), and they can't figure out which records were involved.  
      • Inactivating means the old value is still in the system; it just isn't on to be selected any longer.
        • It will still show for the records it's assign to.
        • Thus, it will also be easier to detect who has this older value.
  6. Choose one of the options and select 'Yes" to apply the change.
  7. View Success Message

     
  8. Depending on which option you selected:
    • The item is either still showing in the list with "Show in List?" as "No"
    • OR
    • The item has been deleted from the list entirely. 
  • Was this article helpful?